The Honeymoon Ended

As soon as the newlyweds returned from their honeymoon, the young bride called her mother, who lived a couple of hours away.

“How did everything go?” Mom asked.

… “Oh, mother,” she began, “the honeymoon was wonderful! So romantic, we had a terrific time. But, mother, on our way back, he started using really horrible language. Stuff I’d never heard before. Really terrible four-letter words. You’ve got to come get me and take me home. Please, Mother!” And the new bride sobbed over the telephone.

… “But, honey,” the mother replied, “what four-letter words?”

… “I can’t tell you, mother, they’re too awful! Come get me, please!”

… “Darling, you must tell me what has gotten you so upset…. Tell mother what four-letter words he used.”

… Still sobbing, the bride said, “Mother, words like dust, wash, iron, cook.”

4 responses to “The Honeymoon Ended

  1. I take it he wasn’t proposing to do those things himself.

    Like

  2. Well, I think she was lucky … my husband doesn’t even know what those words /mean/, let alone what you /do/ with them!

    Like

  3. I represent that remark – – – –

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.