Happy Birthday, Cake.

One of Austria’s most famous cakes, the Sachertorte, is marking its 175th birthday this year. The chocolate cake brought fame and fortune to its creator, a 16-year-old apprentice chef.

It was created by chance one day in 1832 when the chef to the chancellor, Prince Wensel Metternich, suddenly fell ill. His 16-year-old apprentice, Franz Sacher, was called in to create a dessert that would not disgrace the prince and the Sachertorte was born.

A Sachertorte has two layers of chocolate sponge spread thinly with apricot jam and covered with a thick, glazed, dark chocolate icing. The Hotel Sacher uses three types of chocolate. On top of the cake is a round seal made of chocolate, with the words Hotel Sacher stamped on it and, at the side of a perfectly cut triangle should be an artistic swirl of unsweetened whipped cream.

Living in Australia I may have only had pale imitations of a Sachertorte but I still wish it a very happy birthday.

Perhaps with a hearty Schnapps drunk as a toast.

5 responses to “Happy Birthday, Cake.

  1. Ooh…I love sacher! We made them all the time in culinary school, only we used raspberry jam. Great photos! Actually…I might have a picture of one of my own to post. I’ll let you know.

    Like

  2. Nope, no sacher pics. Sorry.

    Like

  3. Nothing like a fresh Sacher. Too many are several days old and a bit dry.

    Like

  4. That looks yummy. I’ve never had sacher before but I wouldn’t hesitate to try it if I got the chance.

    Like

  5. Sharon, I’ll let you into a secret – I prefer Black Forest Cake. Far more decadent, if not as elegant.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.