Book Review – “The Skeleton Room”, Kate Ellis

Detective stories are one of the pillars of literature.

As a genre they are very much like the curate’s egg. From the heights of Sayers and Christie to the  depths of the writing unknowns there is a complete graduation in quality. Kate Ellis is an unknown to me, yet “The Skeleton Room” is a fascinating mix of mystery and murder.

Set in coastal Devon, with Wesley Peterson as the detective, a big range of characters, a back story of the wreckers of the 1700’s, genealogy, greed, nasty people, nice people, a bit of romance and sudden tensions this is a great read. The red herrings are all interesting, the murders are “off-screen” and the detectives have domestic lives. Several times through this 374 page paperback I knew who was the murderer. I was dense. I was wrong every time!

Thoroughly enjoyable, I recommend “The Skeleton Room” to any who happen across it. Probably in remainder piles now, or hidden deep in library shelves as it was published four years ago.

3 responses to “Book Review – “The Skeleton Room”, Kate Ellis

  1. Well thank you, Archie! I don’t know this author but I do love a good mystery story and will gladly give it a try.

    Like

  2. I found it great. I then began a detective story based in New York. Very different vibes! I’ll review that when I finish. I’m trying to make inroads into my TBR pile. I juggled “Moll Flanders”, a Jasper Fforde and this ‘tec novel. The New York tale won – this time.

    Like

  3. Pingback: “Red Mercury Blues” - Reggie Nadelson « Archies Archive

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.