Camera Critter

Not a pleasant sight this week.

We cleaned out a storeroom in the office building about three weeks ago.

Last Wednesday the boss went into the room and was stunned to find that something had grown.

termites1

We took a box filled with plastic outside and this is what was found.

termites2

The plastic was quite ok. It was the stuff that had been added to the plastic. A new home for these critters.

termites3

En masse they looked like this –

termites4

A fact of life out here in the desert. They are the most numerous life-form although they normally build their houses away from humans. This colony decided to invade and will pay the ultimate penalty.

But so will the office. The floor is eaten away, the walls are mostly eaten and the roof wont last more than another week or two!

Rotten Termites!

6 responses to “Camera Critter

  1. Holy guacamole! That’s quite a sizeable colony. Would totally freak me out to find something like that. Excellent macro shots, by the way. 🙂

    I have cows today –

    Southwest Florida Rent-A-Cows at My Mobile Adventures *~*~*

    Tink *~*~*

    Like

  2. Could you not spare us from this? Have you no cuddly furry friendly kind of Critter somewhere over there? I can’t find the lettercombination to describe the shivers that went down my spine just now.
    Hgrrrwldrlllllllbrrrrrrsjh.

    Like

  3. Wow, they work fast, don’t they? I’m glad they don’t do concrete.

    Like

  4. @ mudhooks, yep – that is sort of what we said when we found it.

    @ Tink, Thank you. I was fortunate I had the correct lens with me 🙂

    @ Carolina, I got tired of camels and lizards and these sort of umm- fell into my lap 😆

    @ Silverstar, indeed they do work quick. They will have the building down in around another fortnight! I’ll post pics.

    Like

  5. Ok, now you owe me something for that! I’ll have you know I was eating a (non-salmonella laced) peanut butter sandwich when I decided to visit your blog and scroll down far enough to see all of that.

    SHEESH.

    Don’t you know how to find a way to post boob photos like everyone else on the internet? 😉

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.