A Bit of Perth

My favourite piece of public art in the Perth CBD.

A spherical lump of granite suspended on a base of flowing water.

Able to be spun by hand.

8 responses to “A Bit of Perth

  1. Interactive art – the best kind.

    Like

  2. Is that really granite? It looks like a stromatolite fossil. Whatever it is, it is beautiful and I want one in my yard.

    Like

  3. You can actually get smaller ones in our local garden supplies retailer. They are expensive but so lovely they are worth it, I think. Whereas that one is very big (over a metre diameter, I think) the ones available here are about 30-50 centimetres diameter. Cost about $200-300. All different colours in the rock. Better than a fountain in our hot climate … less evaporation.

    Like

  4. Beautiful bit of public sculpture – love it!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.