Photo Hunt; Hat

In the desert, near the end of the hot dry season and before the beginning of the hot wet season, flies are the dominant life form.

You can get tired just carrying them around, fair dinkum!

hat-flies

They have been breeding, re-breeding and re-re-breeding for several months and all they ask is a little moisture.

Such as is found in my eyes, in my mouth, even a hint of it in my nose.

So while a hat is essential for sun protection, a net is even more essential to keep the persistent little b*****s away from my face.

hat1

24 responses to “Photo Hunt; Hat

  1. Very chic, Archie, but I thought you Aussies always wore these hats to keep the flies off (which are apparently more effective the more you drink).

    Glad you liked my hat pic … thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

    Like

  2. you look like a presidential widow!

    Like

  3. I’d wear the hat too! Bugs – yuck!

    Like

  4. Oops.. you better don’t let the J Kitties see these little fellas. I’ll bet you have holes on your singlet with blood marks. They are such a great bug hunters. 😛

    http://crizcats.blogspot.com/

    Like

  5. @ az, those hats were the original. The one I’m wearing is the teetotal version 😉

    @ Nurse M, Archie O at your service 😈

    @ Claudia, Very necessary – those flies carry lots of bacteria!

    @ Criz Lai, I think even those kittens would slow down in the 47C heat we are having at the moment 🙂

    Like

  6. If they were mozzies, I’d the net all over my body!

    Like

  7. I would have my whole body covered with that net and hat.

    Here is my Photo Hunt.

    JyLnC – Hats!

    Like

  8. yew..they are disgusting…
    i can imagine even your food are covered liddat!

    have a great weekend 😉

    Like

  9. Great take Archie… along with hat and net, I tihk I’d have swatters in holsters and fly sprays in a bandoliers! Have a great weekend

    Like

  10. well, there u go! i know how pesky these flies get but i’m darn glad there arent that many over here.

    Like

  11. first photo…..ewwwwww!!! 2nd photo? Priceless!!!

    I’m not a hat person, but I found ‘hats’ around our home that will work for the hunt. Come on over if you can. I would love to have your company.

    Like

  12. Oh my goodness the one in the first picture wow scary….happy weekend. Mine is ready.

    Like

  13. Oh no wrong one sorry here is my entry…

    Like

  14. MJ got us a couple of those for working outside in the summer – mosquito season for us!

    Well done, Archie! And thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  15. That would be a very important hat to have in that environment.

    To answer your question, I do have a hat that looks like a flowered fez. It’s one that I was given as a gift and I’m pretty sure was bought in the U.S. but it’s shaped almost like a fez.

    Like

  16. I’d have to have full body armor lol!
    Love your pics for today’s theme 🙂
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  17. Yow. Hat as a necessary accessory. I just HATE bugs!

    I did Photo Hunters today, too! Hope you get a chance to visit.

    http://newyorktraveler.net/photo-hunters-hats/

    Like

  18. A necessary hat for sure!

    Like

  19. The Australian salute not enough in the breeding season I’m sure. I was half expecting a hat with corks. Mind you I never did see one in real life but then I was a city girl.

    Like

  20. Wow, I’d wear that too! Yuck on the bugs!

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

  21. Now that is one hat that I do not have in my collection! However, if I lived where you are, I would definitely be wearing one of those hats!

    Like

  22. I would be beyond my tether. However I’m considering netting my head in my fly free zone – the soft focus look is good after a certain age ……. not that you need it of course………

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.