Where Am I From?

Some may have wondered just where Ærchie Archive is from. Facebook certainly demanded to know. So here I am.

Where I am from.

I am from ancient European lines, I am from those close to the soil, I am from Cornish farms and deltas in Norfolk, I am from Danish islands and Irish famines, I am from Dickensian crime and Kentish fields, I am from long sea voyages and followed dreams. I am from a land where the seasons are reversed.

I am from teachers and gold-hunting dreamers and brickmakers and convicts, I am from teetotalers and alcoholics, I am from Catholic and Protestant, I am from a dutiful daughter widowed too early and an adventurous runaway son who died too young, I am from being “man of the house” at twelve, I am from being eldest of three boys. I am from shyness.

I am from remote farming homes, I am from reading cereal packs aged three, I am from one-teacher schools, I am from wide and brown fields, I am from understanding science and mathematics, I am from Goon Shows, puns and dictionaries. I am from my insecurities.

I am from working at instead of studying at University. I am from Ice Skating and Cricket and the beds of the nubile, I am from marching for peace, I am from solving the world’s problems at 1am with red and white wines. I am from reading poetry and plays and science fiction. I am from an awe of the universe.

I am from a wife and three children and ten grandchildren, I am from changing skills and lifestyles, I am from mistakes and wrong choices, I am from too much city, I am from my frailties and fears, I am from learning of my place and my family and my history.

I am from learning nothing is settled and no-one is full-grown. I am from finally learning to trust me.

I am from being human.

4 responses to “Where Am I From?

  1. Fabulous.
    It all feels familiar.
    Am tempted to do something similar.
    Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please do, if only for your own satisfaction. It is great for helping to understand yourself. I do admit that as I was preparing to press “Post” I was feeling very very exposed.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. But it was such a delightful and wonderful picture you painted with words and memories…a delicate and sometimes subtle colouring of a fine person.
    Fascinating and very attractive.
    Thank you!

    Like

  4. Ærchie (and I’ll always think of you as that) – that’s delightful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

