Home From Dinner

I haven’t done one of these for years.

An Illustrated Limerick

The artist was Vargas but I am to blame for the words

vargas-leavemeanough1

2 responses to “Home From Dinner

  1. monocochlearmutineer

    I’m a personal fan of the old 9-9-6-6-9 syllable scheme for limericks, so here’s my humble re-write:

    After dinner, the show and the wine,
    They made love and he thought all was fine,
    Then she gazed in his eyes,
    And saw through all lies,
    And decided: “I’ll make him all mine.”

    I hope you don’t mind 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a traditionalist and believe in the 8,8,5,5,8. scheme but I accept there are many good limericks with the additional syllables. While I am not a lover of the hanging syllab at the beginning of the lines, I admit to sometimes using a hanging syllab at the end of lines. Limericks are public domain the moment they are created and so are subject to change.

    I do have a collection of my (mostly scurrilous) limericks here http://archielims.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

