From a Roman Wall #99

romangif3“Salve, Good morning.” Literatus the Librarian yawned his way into the Forum Cafeterium.

Nellus the Barristerius smiled sympathetically. “Long night on the scrolls?” she asked.

Literatus took the beaker of steaming hot caffeinus gratefully. “Yes. I was trying to make sense of some of those Greek Mathematicians. They have created a lot of problems.”

“I’ll probably fall asleep while I sit here.” he explained to his friends. “Too much study by candle-light. My eyes are falling out of my head.”

“I have often stayed awake at night and worried about my family. It is always hard the next day.” Secundus added his un-sleepy experiences.

Man about Rome, Libertinus threw his two Denarius worth into the conversation. “I never have problems getting to sleep. Wine from Gaul, Mead from the Ægean and a friendly youn – – -” He was interrupted by a very loud cough from Nellus. “Anyway, they help me sleep well every night.” he ended with a bit of embarrassment.

“I once had insomnia,” Verbo Ipsum commented. “It was so bad I was awake until it dawned on me.”

roman graffiti

Leave a Reply

