I Hate Hate

In my Twitter feed the word “Hate” keeps on appearing.

“Hate Israel”, “Hate Hamas”, ” Hate the Jews”, “Hate the Palestinians” are the really current crop.

Which makes a “pleasant change from “Hate Islam”, “Hate Catholics”, “Hate LNP”, “Hate ALP”, “Hate Reffos”.

Then there are the more specific “Hate Assange”, “Hate Obama”, “Hate Rudd”, “Hate Abbott”, “Hate Gillard” people.

They come from all sides of society, all ethnicities, all political leanings.

And that hate is the cause of all the strife. All the killings. All the wars.

I have never met a person I hate. I may dislike them, I may not agree with them, I may not trust them. But I don’t hate them.

There are abstract things which I hate. War, hunger, cancer, injustice and racism for starters.

But never people.

Disagree with them, be exasperated by them, be uncomfortable around them.

But never hate them!

I have no real message or goal with this post. Just a sadness that so much corrosive, self-harming hate is loose in the world. For hatred rebounds on the hater.

 

2 responses to “I Hate Hate

  1. The same goes for “love” as well .. if I hear one more teenager say “I just LOVE Beyonce or Justin Bieber or even Pink, I shall be very upset! You need to KNOW someone to love them .. if you only know the public persona or what is written in gossip magazines, it is not love. It may be infatuation or lust at a distance, but it is not love!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.