Joy at the Death of a Human Being

I am not upset at Osama Bin Laden’s death.

He chose that it should happen by fighting back.

However, and with me there is always an “However”, at the risk of upsetting some who may justifiably be feeling a combination of revenge and satisfaction there are a number of thoughts which come to my mind.

“Do not be overcome by evil but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12

“Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper
darkness to a night already devoid of stars.” Martin Luther King

“Through violence you may murder the hater, but you do not murder hate.”
Martin Luther King

“I destroy my enemies when I make them my friends.” Abraham Lincoln

“The evil that is in the world almost always comes of ignorance, and good
intentions may do as much harm as malevolence if they lack
understanding.” Albert Camus

“Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding.
Albert Einstein

“After victory, you have more enemies.” Cicero

“Violence, even well intentioned, always rebounds upon oneself.” Lao Tzu

“The evil that men do lives after them, the good is oft interred with their bones.” William Shakespeare

Finally, to put me into context, from the bizarre blog of the very sensible Raincoaster:-

War is not my language

الحـرب ليســـت لغتـي

מלחמה היא לא השפה שלי

6 Responses

  1. I am pleased that an evil man is dead. I don’t hold him singularly responsible for the events of terrorism which have gone on in the world over the past 20 years or so but he had a hand in some of them and so consequently he suffered an expected fate. It’s annoying that he’s dead in a way. I would have preferred him to stand trial in an International Court of Justice and to be reviled as he should have been for his crimes against humanity. But somehow I feel short-changed with his death being so easy. :-( Same with the death of Hitler … /they/ chose the method of their death and that’s not fair. And it’s not Justice! It’s revenge, pure and simple – Justice would have put him up to shame before the world. Death has robbed us of Justice … death has given him some sort of peace but not us. All it has done is give us more fear.

    Like

  2. I love the Camus and Lincoln quotes. A great post for today, thanks for this.

    Like

  3. I’ve read and heard several balanced responses which is reassuring – well said Archie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,229 other followers

