Global Time Widget

Some time ago I found I was always looking up time zones and trying to work out what the time was where my email correspondents lived.

For a while I found quite a good solution to my problem with a circular gizmo which Reader’s Digest gave away free as a Promo.

Then I found an on board solution. The Iridium Time Converter. It worked well on a Win 98 platform.
I think Iridium then went out of business and the program almost disappeared. Each time I changed computers I googled for it and found it on a few websites run by Ham Operators. The program appeared to be fixed and never changing. An orphan with no long term hope of survival. But it still worked, even in Win XP.

Then I thought I would see if it was still available after having had my current copy for around six years.

I found a newer version! One which shows day and night in moving bands. It has Samoa added into its list of cities. It is basically blue rather than yellow and black.

The file is only available in two places that I could find so I have made its survival a little safer and uploaded it to a file storage site so it is available to anyone who wants it. It is a zip file and when opened lurks down on your task bar until you need it. (That has all changed!)

UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

There have been changes since this post was made.

Now James McPharlane has reclaimed his program and is integrating it with Google Earth and making all sorts of improvements. It is so much better than it was.

Now (2nd July 2009) The New Iridium Global Time Zone File is here.

I wonder if it will work in Vista, on a Mac or in Linux Distros.

(I have updated the posting date as well which may make it a little more accessible.)

5 Responses

  1. For Linux (especially KDE users) there’s this:

    Ahhh, magical programs, cannot disclose names.

    Like

  2. Hmm, why didn’t the link display? I’ll try again:

    http://docs.kde.org/kde3/en/kdetoys/kworldclock/using-kapp.html#id2482472

    They use a similar display – I would think they were from the same kernel

    Like

  3. Ooh sounds great, I’ve always calculated time before now, googled nternational time I mean. Th pictureis nicer. And my keyboard is playing up s Illget bck you :-))

    Good luck with the errant keyboard! And with instantly knowing the time, anywhere on the world! (It doesn’t work for the International Space Station!)

    Like

  4. As for working on Mac or GNU/Linux, there is a reason it is called, “Windows TimeZone Converter.”
    Of course, one could run it in a virtual machine on either but the GNU/Linux world still has kworldclock which is much the same.
    Likely there is a Mac substitute, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,229 other followers

