Something Special

I admit it. I am a sports tragic. I played my chosen sport until my body wouldn’t let me, I love watching and reading about sport. All sorts of sport. I emphasise with the striving to win. About people’s efforts to be the best they can. Just because I did not reach the top of the world rankings, does not mean I did not beat myself and my own expectations. I did, and I think I am a better human being for it.

Muslim Apple posted something the other day which got me all fired up. This story may be eight months old, but it is a tale for all times. A tale of hope and belief and eventual success.

Go, Girls, Go!

(This is a big file so if you are on dial-up it may be an idea to go and have a cup of coffee while it downloads.)

Muslim Apple added only one thing. ““Whoever believes in Allah and the Last Day should say good or remain silent.” (Bukhari and Muslim)”. This is so close to the proverb my grandmother used, “If you cannot say something good, then say nothing at all.”

We are all alike.

3 Responses

  1. I’m a big softy for good sports stories about overcoming the odds or some personal tragedy in the athlete’s life. I just happened to see this story at work several months ago and only recently found that it had been posted to YouTube.

    Maya Angelou has a poem with a common refrain, “we are more alike than unlike” or something to that effect.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this story with us. I have believed for a very long time that we are all alike. Hatred and war are not the answers. Never have been, never will be. Oh, people use them as if they were the answers, but they don’t actually solve any problems, just perpetuate them, push them farther along in time.

    Like

  3. Muslim Apple, We are all alike. As Shakespeare wrote, (of Jews and Christians but true of all) “If you prick us, do we not bleed? if you tickle us, do we not laugh? if you poison us, do we not die? and if you wrong us, shall we not revenge? If we are like you in the rest, we will resemble you in that.”
    The pity is that we are so alike we hate in the same way.

    hmh, my pleasure, I am just grateful for MA finding it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,149 other followers

